this phantom span

loss impales once more
but though dagger withdraw
the void advance

there is urgency
for stay
but it is done.
the world vacates
and the drop plummets
down its hurtling descent

would thee intercede
for a fool
pendent of right
writhed in wrong
yet however you impeach
the dead
they will not rise

I am thy slayer
seed of Cain
I shall
no more repose
though banished to grave
and dangle upon this
spectral thread

a pendulum creaking
in the wind
regarded not
the known unknown
invariably denied

I would loose this bond
that garrotes
with its wrenching grip
but no sooner do I break
than I commence to slaughter
renewed

my recidivous impulse
condemning me to evermore
return and serve the sway
of this phantom span

oh would that I learn to slip
this noose that with its
taut snap, suspends
oblivion
 

Written by Scott Schoffstall
© March 11, 2012
all rights reserved
Poetic Sojourn

About Scott Schoffstall

I'm a relatively new poet having started in earnest 11/2010. I have sought the authentic and am still on that quest. I've diverged from the norm yet always reached for the universal. My interests were always beyond the here and now. Beyond the taste, touch, smell, hear, see. Where the mind and the spirit transcend the physical. They say perception is reality. Is it? Are we truly all there is? View all posts by Scott Schoffstall

Leave a Reply

