Idiot Prayer

For so long I’ve waited 
you don’t arrive 
I languish abated
am I dead or alive?

I cry for you
but you don’t hear
or do you?
it’s the latter I fear

you told me I’m loved
you told me turn. come
I tried to turn
all suddenly turns mum

you say I won’t be alone
that I have now a home
I hoped in what you say
again and again 
you push me away 

so it’s seek and you will find
for you would meet me there
since you love me unconfined
I found silence in that air

you hold me in error
to turn from license 
but mature no repair
I devote in the silence

you say no more is given than borne
that to know you is gain
I feel slight and forlorn
you try me in pain

I watch others alive
live their ways from what’s shown
I see them take and thrive
misunderstood, I weep alone

you tell me I’m yours
that you have me for always
you keep me kept
in this limbic malaise

I long to see fruition
an account in trust 
you hold me to volition
perpetual prisoner of readjust

you’d have me know the unknown
to know it is real
whilst I linger alone
to assume not what I feel

still I wait with nothing 
and so may not revive
In despair I may go
and then never derive

You tell me it’s over
but you don’t let it end
but if I will, it never will
your love forever impend

 

 

Written by Scott Schoffstall
© April 18, 2011
all rights reserved
Poetic Sojourn

About Scott Schoffstall

I'm a relatively new poet having started in earnest 11/2010. I have sought the authentic and am still on that quest. I've diverged from the norm yet always reached for the universal. My interests were always beyond the here and now. Beyond the taste, touch, smell, hear, see. Where the mind and the spirit transcend the physical. They say perception is reality. Is it? Are we truly all there is? View all posts by Scott Schoffstall

2 responses to “Idiot Prayer

Leave a Reply

