Get Down from on High pt. 2

you want me to shut up don’t you?
I’m here to tell you
you don’t run this race

I’m sorry.
I know you won’t believe that it’s true
and for you it must seem
we’ve forgotten our place

you realize we’re not entirely unaware?
so until further notice
I’ll keep my big mouth moving that air

feel that breeze on your neck do you?
maybe you’d be better off
back on that mount with the view

why should you care about it?
don’t tell me you do?
I didn’t know the world beyond the end
of your nose existed to you

well this is astonishing and quite the news
for us that will be difficult to disabuse
but now that we see that it’s the case
maybe you’d condescend
to join the human race
and allow us to make our way
stumble and fall
because we don’t always know
and often drop the ball

there’s something you may have heard of you know
it’s life
and during it we’re required to grow

so from time to time
you might give us some slack
and let out the line
and we’ll get realed
back

because if you ever expect
to find
anyone perfect
I think it’s entirely premature
we’re not all quite pure
yet to be sure

so you’ll have to go right on settling for less
because we stupid peon humans
are still quite a mess

 

 

Written by Scott Schoffstall
©  February 18, 2011
all rights reserved
Poetic Sojourn

About Scott Schoffstall

I'm a relatively new poet having started in earnest 11/2010. I have sought the authentic and am still on that quest. I've diverged from the norm yet always reached for the universal. My interests were always beyond the here and now. Beyond the taste, touch, smell, hear, see. Where the mind and the spirit transcend the physical. They say perception is reality. Is it? Are we truly all there is? View all posts by Scott Schoffstall

Leave a Reply

