The Wilderness

In my time of understanding
I’ve seen many failings
they’ve been death to life
and have cursed the wild things within me
I have roamed amongst them and they’ve known me not
yet I have joined in the hunt and it has brought me low
I harrow from deep within and have spilt much blood

I have toiled in fertile fields and seen them barren
a reckoning has parched my soil to dust whence I came
I long for healing rain so I may stand beneath
renew my growing and my soil reclaim

I have reached out to the universe and it has shown
me silence

I have pled my case before man
and witnessed only a prevaricator’s judgment
as  holy creed

in my time of understanding
I know not whence wisdom comes

I sought it in the dark places that showed me
only delirium without meaning

I sought it in places aflame with prurience
and have seen the longing empty flesh
and theft of beauty

I sought it in the things which move men to covet
and have seen their hunger rending

I sought it in the powers and movements of the day
and have seen consuming baseness
without equal

I sought it in the wounded
and have seen only the bitterness of blame
with no communion of souls

I sought it within mine own spirit
only to haunt
the ruins of its wilderness

where can I seek to find this knowing?

in my time of understanding
I need only this guidance
and I will forsake all careless abandon
cast down my wants and attend

 

 

Written by Scott Schoffstall
©  February 12, 2011
all rights reserved
Poetic Sojourn

About Scott Schoffstall

I'm a relatively new poet having started in earnest 11/2010. I have sought the authentic and am still on that quest. I've diverged from the norm yet always reached for the universal. My interests were always beyond the here and now. Beyond the taste, touch, smell, hear, see. Where the mind and the spirit transcend the physical. They say perception is reality. Is it? Are we truly all there is? View all posts by Scott Schoffstall

Leave a Reply

